News > Article

UVA receives 2010 Beckman Scholars Program

UVA was one of nine institutional Beckman Scholars Program awards selected in 2010 by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation. Six of the fifteen UVA mentors are Chemistry Department faculty: Profs. Columbus, Fraser, Gunnoe, Harman, Mura, and Venton. The Beckman Scholars Program recognizes outstanding undergraduate research students in chemistry and biological sciences. Established in 1997, The Beckman Scholars Program provides scholarships that advance the education, research training and personal development of select students in chemistry, biochemistry, and the biological and medical sciences. The sustained, in-depth undergraduate research experiences and comprehensive faculty mentoring are unique in terms of program scope, content and level of scholarship awards.

Tagged as: , , , ,