News > Article

Undergraduates Receive Harrison Research Awards

Congratulations to all of this year’s Harrison Research Award recipients.  Special congratulations to our Chemistry Majors:

•Margaret Daly of Yorktown, a third-year chemistry major specializing in bio-chemistry, is researching incorporating a dye that exhibits fluorescence and oxygen-sensitive phosphorescence into biocompatible and biodegradable polymers, which can self-assemble into nanoparticles that may be used for imaging oxygen levels in tumors, wounds and the brain.

•Isaac Falk of Harrisonburg, a third-year biochemistry major, is researching ways to improve synthetic methods to form various therapeutic compounds that show promising anti-cancer activity.

•Benjamin Scott Winter of Little Rock, Arkansas, a second-year biochemistry and neuroscience double major, is researching neurons and the transport protein dynein, which carries various other cargos throughout the cell and may play a major role in guiding neurons’ growth, which would help in understanding how organisms develop and how to approach repairing damaged neural networks.

•Sarah Wyckoff of Bethesda, Maryland, a third-year chemistry major concentrating on biochemistry, is seeking to create an integrated microfluidic device capable of quantifying hematocrit, total protein and albumin in patient blood samples.

Click here for the full list of undergraduate research award recipients.