Events & Seminars > Named Lectures > Ireland Lecture


Ireland Lecture

Robert Ellsworth Ireland received his A.B. from Amherst in 1951, a Ph.D. under the direction of William S. Johnson from the University of Wisconsin in 1954, and was a NSF postdoctoral fellow in the group of William G. Young at the University of California, Los Angeles, from 1954-56. He joined the University of Michigan faculty in 1956, was appointed Professor of Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology in 1965, and in 1985 became Director of the Merrel-Dow research Institute in Strasbourg, France. He came to the University of Virginia in 1986, where he served as Chairman and subsequently was selected as the first Thomas Jefferson Professor of Chemistry. He assumed Emeritus status in 1965.

In 1999, a group of former students and postdocs formed the Robert E. Ireland Lectureship in Organic Synthesis with funding from Merck & Co., Pharmacia, SmithKline Beecham, Roche-Syntex, Lilly, Amgen, Wyeth Ayerst, Agouron, and Abott (solicited by Joseph P. Armstrong, a former postdoc with Bob). Subsequent sustaining contributions have beed received from Organic Synthesies (courtesy of Peter Wipf), David Evans, and James Marshall.





Professor Peter Wipf

University of Pittsburgh


Professor Samuel Danishefsky

Columbia University


Professor Albert Eschenmoser



Professor David Evans

Harvard University


Professor Scott Denmark

University of Illinois


Professor Larry Overman

University of California, Irvine

2006-2007 Professor Amos Smith University of Pennsylvania


Professor Erick Carreira

ETH – Zurich

2008-2009 Professor William Roush Scripps Research Institute
2009-2010 Professor Andrew Myers Harvard University
2010-2011 Professor Robert Boeckman, Jr. University of Rochester
2011-2012 Professor Dale Poulter University of Utah
2012-2013 Dr. Joseph Armstrong Merck Pharmaceuticals